Improper?

likelight2flies

I've been playing for about 2 years now. I'm self taught and I often worry that I'm teaching myself improperly. My biggest concern is that I stroke the high-hats with my left hand and the snare drum with my right hand. Does that make sense? So, instead of playing with my hands crossed they are open. Lately I've been trying to get comfortable with my hands crossed. It sucks because I feel like I'm teaching myself all over again. But I was wondering am I wrong for playing how I described?

cableman26

Dude, I wish I could play open handed. If you started cross armed you'd know how much more of the kit is open to you when you play open handed. You're aces brother I wouldn't worry about training cross handed if it were me.

Rockula!

I have to cheat to play open handed in that I use a cable hi hat
Once I uncrossed my hands, there were a million ideas that I could pull off now that I didn't have to keep my hands away from each other
There is no way that I could do what I do if I didn't play open handed

likelight2flies

I'm relieved to see some positive feedback! lol
My main reasons for doing it was 1) It seem's like every drummer I see plays closed handed.....for a while, I thought maybe I was secretly left handed.
2) I thought it would help me improve my skill on my ride cymbal, which I have trouble with. My first kit didn't have a ride cymbal. Just a set of crappy high-hats and a crash cymbal. By the time I got a ride cymbal, I found out I couldn't really incorporate it into my playing unless I placed it on the left side of the kit. So I had the ride cymbal on the left and the crash on the right. I still have a lot to learn. I kind of regret not taking lessons.

cableman26