I'm new =D

I Wear Emericas

Okay, basically I'm new here and I just had a few questions.

Well, one I'm a girl. Soooo I generally get alot of crap for drumming or even trying to be a musician at all. I alot of "you suck cause your a girl" and alot of "you arent as good as (insert name) because youre a girl" I personally think its a little shitty to bash someone and they way they play because of their gender you know? Unfair. But anyway, my point...got any advice on how to get past it because it is a little discouraging at times. I've been playing for 4 years so I cant suck incredibly =/

Moving on...I've noticed alot alot of drummers at my school play double bass. It's not really my thing. So, how would you go about making a regular old 5 piece set sound good?

flamdrag99

i am sorry for those jerks. shame on them. i think that is just awesome when i see girls drumming. anyways moving on, when i was going to school i started way late as compared to all of the other drummers in the band. so i was playing catch up to them for years. the only thing you can do is just push through it and one day they will see the light. just keep playing. eventualy they will respect you as a player. they did for me. and now i get called to go fill in for a couple of community orch/concert bands around town. that would never have happened if i let the other drummer discourage me from playing and becoming better. in fact i became a better player then most of the cats i went to school with. so yeah just push through it and keep playing and getting better. :wink:

anavrinIV

the way to get people to stop giving you crap is to show them all that you can play just as well if not better than them. and you dont have to play double bass to impress anyone, just learn to be fast on a single. listen to bonham and mcbrain to hear some blazing singles.

sylvie_jeff