I'm going to be open for a little bit

Susanboy

I'm a 17 year old drummer, and recently I've been looking for bands I can play with and start gigging a little bit. I'm scared as hell. My worst fear is that they won't take me serriously. Or that they will and I'll suck. I know I want music to be the rest of my life, but I am so scared. I've never told anyone about this.

I know I can't go in the music world and be the town's drummer for a crappy guitarist and a guy who just got a bass, but I'm so scared that once I get with musicians who know what they're doing, and do it very well, that they'll laugh me out of the place.

I might be asking advice, or maybe I just needed to tell someone.

drummert2k

first off, even if you're a little hesitant, you have to go into every audition with 100% confidence. not cocky, just confident. you're mind is in the right place. the only way to get over being worried about getting new gigs is to just go out and do it. you'll have some horrible experiences and you'll have some great ones.

and if someone wont audition you or take you because they dont take you serious, as long as you put yourself out there in a professional manner but still easy to talk to and get along with, then dont even let that get to you. theres 17 year olds out there that play circles around some 65 year olds. you might be young but that doesnt mean you cant do your job in the band.

just put your name out as much as possible. try to jam and audition with everyone you can. if you get with someone who enjoyed playing with you, then you're name will come up in conversations with other musicians. and then maybe they will hore you and so on.

but just be confident, but not cocky.

MrBojengles

heres what my book says haha :).

The gig section 7 156