i'm a punk drummer

mute

anyone else out there?

music is a hobby for me, so (at the risk of playing into the dumb stereotype of the punk musician) technique and correct practice is not my thing. i play for fun and learn by playing along to cds (i prefer albums to songs).

here are some that i enjoy now or have enjoyed. any suggestions for others?

Lagwagon - Hoss
Thrice - The Illusion of Safety
Inspection 12 - In Recovery
Rx Bandits - Progress
Unwritten Law - Blue Room

drummert2k

mute":3qzj44wf said:
technique and correct practice is not my thing. i play for fun and learn by playing along to cds (i prefer albums to songs).
not trying to start a big long arguement here or anything but hearing stuff like this makes it really hard to respect you're point.

as someone who does take pride in playing my instrument, i know practice and technique are very important.

im not saying anyone who doesnt practice technique and rudiments and stuff sucks, im just saying have some pride in your instrument and learn the foundation. if you love playing the drums why would you not want to be the best you can be?

and maybe think about calling your self "a drummer in a punk band" rather than a "punk drummer". it kinda makes you sound really close minded and only able to play one style of music.

not trying to be rude or bash you but just take pride in what you do. work on good practicing and technique and posture and rudiments. you're only hurting yourself by not knowing them. and if you love drumming i dont understand why you would limit yourself so much with your knowledge.

mute

ugh.

ok first. your wrong usage of "you're" vs. "your" makes it hard for me to respect your point. second, i wasn't making a point; i was just telling you guys how i play and looking for some suggestions on other albums to enjoy. however, i'll respond.