im a drummer therefore i must be rich and spoilt ?

phil-drummer

has anyone ever had these kind of remarks of non drummers, it annoys me when ppl say " oh your spoilt cause you hav a big expensive drum kit "
or " your family's rich " , well im not spoilt n my family is nt rich , i just like to play drums.

any one ever get these naive comments ?

Yeah, I get those comments too. It gets annoying. My usual reply was "No, I'm not spoiled, but drums are my life so I work my ass off at crap jobs to be able to afford the kind of equipment I want", but I got sick of saying all that lol. My reply to that now is "Yeah, I'm real spoiled" coupled with an eye roll lol.

Eiren

I think in England it can be very true, to be honest. It's very hard to find a place to play drums in England, as everything is so squashed and everyone has to live so close together. So to live in a place that is far away enough from neighbours, you need a fair bit of money (in general, obviously that doesn't apply to all).

Plus drumming is NOT cheap :lol:

screamBRYAN

I've never recieved that comment, because everybody knows how little money my family has. My sister and her boyfriend bought me the kit for christmas, by now I would've given up all hope on ever getting my drums until I was 20. The day somebody calls me spoilt and rich, I'll laugh in their face and invite them to chill in my cramped little apartment sometime...

wombat_drums

I wish i was rich and spoiled! wouldnt of had to work my arse off as much to get a decent kit. My response to that is "no, imagine how big it would be if i was."

TheYardstick

Ya, my family has a bunch of money, but they never use it. I had to work to get my drumset and I have to get my own money for any extras I want for the set.

pilsnerfan