I wish I had done this 5 years ago!!!

Multibomber

So I started playing with a good friend of mine who is a really good blues rock guitarist... really really good. I play metal, thats what I do, thats how I roll. I've been learning Gospel Drumming because it kicks fucking ass! Playing with someone who plays way different stuff than me has forced me to think a little different, and forced him to think a little different. And here's what I've learned:

1. I didnt realized how many different beats I could play. I'm playing stuff I never dreamed I could play just 3 weeks ago!
2. I didnt realize that coordination from one style would translate so well into coordination into another style. As I've become better at playing blues rock with some Gospel chops, my metal playing has gone through the freaking roof! Seriously, I've gone from having a wimpy left hand to being able to play open-handed pretty damn well in a very short period of time.
3. I wish I would have started playing completely different styles of music a long time ago. I've found a way to make it fun, and although I probably would never listen to the kind of music we're playing, I am thoroughly enjoying playing it... maybe its cuz I play blues rock a little "spicy."

Thoughts??

Alan_

in general, I agree, but it depends on what your focus is. look at andres segovia. for some people, diversity works to their advantage. for others, distilling down a very narrowly-focused style creates something awesome. I'm too ADD to just play one style myself, and I do think it's worked well in helping to create something unique.

johnny nobody

IT SEEMS TO APPLY TO song writing also. Sometimes I write a tune, lyrics&music, in a style I generally do not ID with, it just comes out that way. It still improves my performance. Don't let the IMAGE of a music style force you to make a life style out of it. Just like life, it all fades away and leaves you in vanity. Enjoy diversity while you can.

Mitchell?