I just dont think I have what it takes

reardoc007

Now you may think i'm jumping the gun here, I haven't even purchased my drum kit yet, but I have purchased a practise pad and have been putting in hours of practise over the past few days.
I am 22, so i'm starting later than most, i dont know whether that has anything to do with it. I started playing round with paradiddles, the first thing you are taught, possibly the easiest thing. Once i start speeding up slightly I always mess up, its infuriating, i dont seem to be getting much better no matter how much I practice.
I know i'll probably be told dont run before you can walk but I have put in many hours of practise over the past few days and seem to be getting nowhere.
I'm sure alot of you people took to it like duck to water, but are their any people here who perhaps aren't natural drummers but have come along way through practise. Your stories of when you first started learning would be much appreciated. Cheers.

spazdrummergirl

you know what? i've only been playing for about a year. and i think every drummer or any musician really, starts off really enthusiastic and then realizing that its not exactly easy to grasp things, they start losing hop and thinking they're hopeless. the solution? time and practise.. if ur not musically inclinded then A LOT of practise. and its never too late to start something. good luck! lemme know how it goes :)

screamkevin

I understand your frustration, reardoc007, but you can't expect drastic improvement in just a few days. You're learning from the beginning. You're asking your muscles to do things that they have never done before, and don't know how to do. Your brain is trying to assimilate all these new and wonderful things like sticks, drums, cymbals, and practice pads.