I am completely new to drumming. I need some beginner advice

mutantpotato

Hi.

I am new to drumming. I started a month ago. I have been playing for myself, and been trying to learn things myself.

Is there any advice you veterans can give me? And is there a possibility that you can try to teach me some basic tracks and grooves and rythms you can teach me?

Thanks

WingsOfMajesty

My advice would be to get a teacher, learn from them as well as try and teach yourself, and also to find out beginner musicians... that REALLY helped me when I was first starting out.

drummert2k

agrees with all the above. get a teacher. even if its only until you learn how to read music and get the basics down. once you can play out of a book you can start buying differant books and teach yourself. although i highly recommend keeping the teachers as long as you possible can

travbark98

i agree with getting a teacher. i've been drumming for about four years now, and my teacher has helped me a lot. if you get a good teacher, he'll be able to explain things to you in a way that is easy to understand. he will also be able to help you with such things as sticking and reading complex drum notations. my teacher has shown me things such as syncopation (snare), cookbook (hi-hat, bass, snare), funk, and new breed (pumping the hi-hat, snare, ride, leading with left hand, etc.). these books have all helped me, and i incorporate all of them into my playing. without my teacher, i never would have even thought to look at the funk or new breed.

brandon8robinson

Don't be cocky
Matter a' fact, don't even tell anybody you can play until you think you're great.

Don't bang your drums to hell, practice AC/DC beats, works for most :lol:

Be confident

I've seen my friend with no rythm turn half way decent due to lessons.

scepticILL