how to do "big" endings

gringo

hello everyone,

I have a question about how to do "big" endings, i.e. the trainwreck/cymbal swell ending. Is there a general formula, or a specific type of fill that follows the cymbal swells, for pulling that off and keeping things tight????? i'm a new drummer, and i'm trying to figure out the breakdown of it. thanks.

xdoseonex

i usually do 16th o the double bass and follow it exact with my hands. i like to do a crossing "helicopter" type thing cuz it looks cool when you do it fast. i start hitting my bass drums hard so you can realy hear the individual hits. then i lslowly lighten the hits on my kick drum so it fades into more of a monotone swell sound. then a 32nd note quadrupled into that final choked cymbal crash hits with the snare. thats how i do it. If you click my link in my signature the song "pefection" has one of those ending but i really fucked it up bad. it might help you nonetheless

um... the big crash ending doesn't really have a formula, that's sorta the point of it. it's supposed to just happen because it feels right, and the best way to pull it off is to feel your way through it. I generally will just hit stuff, and if one or both of the guitarist starts noodling, I'll lay back and play under them, and if not, I might play something down the toms or whatever... just make sure everyone knows when you're ending the song. That's the most important thing: getting everyone to actually end at the same time. Make eye contact with everyone, play a snare hit to make sure everyone pays attention and is ready, then just watch the band and hit your crashes. body language is a big part of it. if anything, I'd recommend not taking a fomulaic approach to it, otherwise all of your endings will end up sounding similar.

JAdrums2k

Definitely don't do it for every song...