How to become a good drummer?

MrMonkee

Hi everyone! :)
I'm a new member in this forum, this is my first post :D . I have been playing drums only a half year :? . I play drums because I really love it :p and I learn it by myself :roll: .
I have a small question which I think any beginner may ask the teacher: "How to become a good drummer?". :?:
I hope I will receive your answers. They may be about your exprience.
I'm not good at English :( so I feel difficult in describing my thinking :cry: . But I promise I will try my best in the next posts. :wink:
Thank you for viewing my post and your replies! :p

kylevater

ok well of course there is practice practice practice
i would print out tabs and play those, they usually never accurate but you get some good beats of them
and i play the beginnings of some songs that i cant play the rest of lol
such as the color of money by bury your dead

johnisonfire

kylevater":tbimtqzj said:
...i play the beginnings of some songs that i cant play the rest of lol
Good song. I usually play It's Far Better To Learn by Saosin. I also warm up by playing the first minute of that song haha. I also play certain Paramore song beginnings too.

Practicing is the best way, 20-30 minutes of solid practice per day is plenty, and a day off every now and then never hurt anything either. Online lessons on YouTube is excellent as well. Listening to the drums in music is great too, that's how I learned to play much of what I learn. The hardest thing for me was to kick the "unison dependence" of the bass foot with the corresponding hand, so I suggest learning to ride the hi-hats or the ride cymbal while playing.

kylevater

johnisonfire":ec8d9ns1 said:
kylevater":ec8d9ns1 said:
...i play the beginnings of some songs that i cant play the rest of lol
Good song. I usually play It's Far Better To Learn by Saosin. I also warm up by playing the first minute of that song haha. I also play certain Paramore song beginnings too.