How much imporov. do you use in your playing?

Drums>Space

Im a self taught drummer, and a great deal of the music i listen to is based around improv. (Grateful dead, Miles davis). The band i play with uses very little formal structure, we've known each other long enough to know how to react to what. Im just wondering what some other people's thoughts are. Clearly it's all personal preference, but alternative insight is always a good thing.

vargasdrumbeast

Most of the time I use lots and lots of improve in just mainly jazz, and latin music. If I started improving while I was playing with my metal/proggresive band it would be a nightmare :(

RogersDrummer

I play Jazz/Fusion/Funk. Most of my playing is based around improv. Expecially when i play a solo. I think its more fun to play what you feel at that very moment, then try and worry about somthing that you contructed before.

In my opnion, thats one of the key points in jazz music. There is alot of structure of course, but at the same time, everyone plays what they feel at that point in time. The oposite of course, would be classical music, where everyone plays the exact same notes everytime they play a particular composition. Classical music is nice to listen to, but i would hate to play it.

vargasdrumbeast

RogersDrummer":1rc4gof5 said:
I play Jazz/Fusion/Funk. Most of my playing is based around improv. Expecially when i play a solo. I think its more fun to play what you feel at that very moment, then try and worry about somthing that you contructed before.

In my opnion, thats one of the key points in jazz music. There is alot of structure of course, but at the same time, everyone plays what they feel at that point in time. The oposite of course, would be classical music, where everyone plays the exact same notes everytime they play a particular composition. Classical music is nice to listen to, but i would hate to play it.