How Did you get your start?

Scogar

Drumline/school band vs. Self Taught/Private lessons

I know it is two different ways of going about it, so how did you get your start, and which way do you think is better?

I personally started out in the latter. I took a few private lessons on snare, and then I picked up the set and taught myself.

skitch

School band, private lessons and drumline. I played drumset the whole time on my own because THAT is why I got into drumming - to play drumset! My parents made the deal that I had to take lessons and be in school bands if I was going to play drums. I now remember some school teacher grilling Steve Gadd about mallet instruments at his clinic in Dallas a couple of years ago. His wise response was that he would have to devote as much time to those instruments as he did to the drumset. He chose the drumset. Sorry, but the teacher had the agenda of ramming Tympani and Marimba down every one else's throat.

GIBson

i only reall bought a drumset cause my sister was helping me pay cause she thought it would be fun, she stopped playing after a week and i had a kit. then my guitar teacher got me in a band after i had only been playing a couple weeks, somewhow they were patient with my playing... i took lessons after i had been playing for a couple months, but i wasnt getting alot out of, i want to take more lessons to learn better foot technique cause n matter how much i practice i cant seem to play DB very well...

GiveItAll

i have an older brother who was playing since before i was born . he moved in near my house when i was a kid an di used to go to his and play on his drums he showed me some basics but after he gave me my first set i learned everything else on my own

Hack_and_Slash