Hi and..a question.

Shade69

Hi.
I'm Shade (No real names yet kthx).

I'm Greek/English, So I'm not great on English drumming vocabulary. I mostly know the terminology in Greek.

I've been playing drums for about 6-7 months now. Because I started in the middle of this year [average] , I didn't go to a teacher (Like I should). However, lessons start in september, so I'm pretty anxious to begin.

Unlike most drummers [Or perhaps dummer stereotype ? :roll: ] I'm not very eccentric.

I'm also in a band (How did I learn? Well, The internet is filled with sources on basic beats and stuff required like stick positioning. But I will be honest, I believe a teacher, real life contact, is always better). We all started at the same time on our own, but we will start lessons together too soon.

My set is a Ludwig Accent CS Combo [Dont flame, thats what it says on the Toms ]. My Cymbals are Paiste, excluding the high hat (unknown make, but im gonna buy one this week hopefully). I also posses a portable drumming machine if I go on vacation. (Yamaha somethingwhichicantremember). My Drumsticks are Vic Firth.

I like Punk Rock/Pop, Classic Rock like The Stones, And Classical Music (I hear you lawl @ the last one)

Now, thats me. However, a question which has been bugging me, and I haven't found yet an answer :cry:
For 4 months, I played with my hands not crossed. However, somebody told me : ''Don't most drummers play crossed ?''. Since then a phobia dawned, and I've been playing crossed ever since, which is harder, or so it feels, but hey, I can manage. (From my musical tastes, I know Travis Barker from blink 182 played uncrossed..but I'm not sure if thats just image or something)

So..my question is : Is it wrong to play without crossing your hands?

Thanks

P.S As you can see my english isn't great (since I live 99% of time in greece, not england), So if you see anything that sounds contradictive, wrong etc tell me.