Hey drummers...

a92h

Hey people, I am leaving to the USA this August to spend one full accedimec year over there on scholarship. I will be doing tenth grade. I am heading from Kuwait.

So I am new to drumming and want to get to learn it over there. Danny Carey from my favorite band Tool inspired my and I am really serious about starting drumming. So what exactly do I do when I get there? What is my first step? Do school music teachers in America teach drumming, or do I need a private teacher? If so about how much do you pay for lessons? When do I know that I can self study and no longer need any lessons?

I have a very basic knowledge of reading basic drum notation. I learned that on some websites on the internet.

One last question , does being 15 years old too old or young for drumming?

Thanks, you dont know how much I appreciate any help anyone can offer me. and mods feel free to move this topic.

Oh and I dont own a drumset yet.

drummer912

welcome to america and there are MANY opportunities for a beginner drummer here. i suggest you first get ur rudiments on snare down before you move on the the kit. in most schools, there is a marching band (that plays at sport events) and a symphonic band that plays like concerts. i dont know if ur too old to join the band or not, but if u can get in that would be great. they will teach you how to play most likely.

once you get down the snare, move on to the rest of the kit. you can buy many, many different kinds of beginner drum sets, in the price range of $300-$700. just go to a local music store or look online for the one you want. when you get the kit, it would be best to hire a drum teacher (info should be at ur local music store.) this is not manditory, i dont have a teacher. i am self taught on the kit and had two years of band in elementary school on the snare and bass drums. i highly suggest getting a teacher though, for you will learn much more and learn easier.