help

grohl

like...i ve got a drum recently and im beginning to play drums...my question is...is there some type trick of holding the drum sticks?ive been seeing some drum stuff some videos and i look that they hold and do the beatings with some kind of tecnic..i dont know...

drummert2k

i'd recommend getting a teacher even if its just long enough to learn to hold the sticks and the basicas of drumming. playing drums is a lot more than just grabbing sticks and swinging them at stuff.

drumsforlife

There is matched grip and there is traditional grip. There is technique to your grip so learn the proper technique for your grip. Buy a beginning book or try searching the net for a beginner's video that includes how to grip. I've learned from experience that learning the grip is a VERY good idea because being a self taught drummer, I did not learn. And I'm having trouble with certain things now because every once in a while I revert back to the way I started. Finding a teacher is also very good advice. Listen to drummert2k. I've picked up a few things from him just reading on here that have proven to help me out in the long run. Are you learning just snare or are you doing mallets as well? Because if you're doing mallets too, you'll need to learn grips for mallets as well. There are certain grips that help you with doubling up on the mallets and remaining accurate. I've yet to take actual lessons on kit, but I did take half a semester of percussion methods with a very well known percussionist around here until I was kicked out of that college for failing grades. I can tell you, learn how to grip. Like drummert2k says, playing drums is more than just grabbing a pair of sticks and swinging at stuff. Good luck!

J.C.