Help me pick out a set

ilikethrice

Hey guys im new to drumming and i need some help picking out my first set for my first set i have $900-1000 to spend for everything (drums,hardware,cymbals)the kinda music i like to play is rock(in general) classic rock and indie the set i was looking at was the tama superstar 4 piece and since that comes with all the hardware all id have to buy is cymbals and i was looking at the sabian b8 kit and i would need a throne, what do you guys think about this kit? and im open to all suggestions

michiganice91

go with a ludwig..ive heard great things about the low end ludwigs..for cymbals try paiste alphas..or zildjian ZXT's

cant speak for anything but ludwig and zildjian at the moment.

drummert2k

i agree with the ludwig. but step up from the accent and go with the accent cs. nicer finishes option. i perefer natural wood grain over a wrap. and better hardware. they i believe are aound 800 for everything.

ilikethrice

yeah the cs looks pretty cool but that means i only have like 100-200 for cymbals

EDIT:eek:ops sorry i was looking at the cs elite for 800, but the cs does look pretty neat

drummert2k

i think the cs might come with planet z cymbals, which are pretty cheap. maybe you could get the set cheaper if you dont get the cymbals. but honestly, spending an extra 100 bucks to be able to get a decent kit with decent cymbals is better than spending 800 bucks and getting cheap everything and having to get all new stuff in a year anyway because parts break.

or if you could handle poplar shells look into pearl export.

or go to guitar center. you can usually get them to knock some cah off their selling prices.

ilikethrice

so the ludwig kit is $660 and the cymbals i want come out to 230 and a throne is like 30 and it all comes out to $920 how much you think guitar center would kick off?

dtran09