Help me buy a new kit?

~newdrummer~

Hey guys. I've been drumming for three years, I started in my school, as a percussionist in the school band back in middle school. Me and my teacher convinced me parents into buying me a cheap set of drums and cymbals. I'm currently on an Orbitone kit, with Zildjian Planet Z hi-hats and crash/ride, and a Zildjian ZHT Splash. Now, my kit is pretty thrashed and I'm finally starting to realize that new heads, and muffling systems just don't help. My drum teacher has confirmed for me that the kit is a pile of s***.

So, with all that said, I'm looking for a new kit, and in the near future, new cymbals. :D

Price range for drums is up to about $750, I think my parents/grandparents would all pitch in for a combined Christmas present, up to 500, and I can put in some more money. But I've seen some kits, and just decided to hear some opinions. Fire away. :)

Thanks.

michiganice91

mapex Mbirch, or ProM..you can find some good holiday deals. Also A Zildjian A custom cymbal pack would be great for you..and saves you a lot of money.

anavrinIV

imo, there are some good kits in that range...tama superstar, mapex m birch, ddrum dominion, gretsch catalina maple, pdps, etc... and its up to you what you want. my choice would probably be the mapex set, then the superstars, but im partial to birch. what size kit are you looking for? a smaller kit will cost less obviously, so you may be able to go a little higher quality.

i just mentioned drums there, but if youre also looking at cymbals the whole game changes.

~newdrummer~

Hey thanks guys, yeah I'm looking at cymbals, mine aren't the greatest, but the top priority is the drums. I mean, there the bigger purchase. I'll check out those drums sets mentioned, and keep em coming if anyone else has suggestions.