Hello

Hellschef

Hi everyone I've just joined this forum and I thought I'd introduce myself to everyone. My name is Kevin Howden (although I prefer Kev) and I'm 19 years old and from a city called Lincoln in England.

I've played drums for four and three-quater years and I'm completley self taught and I generally play progressive rock my main influences being; Mike Portnoy of Dream Theater, Gavin Harrison of Porcupine Tree, Nick D'Virgilio of Spock's Beard and Mattew Bellamy of Muse. Mt first taste of Progressive drumming came in the form of Home by Dream Theater around 3 years ago and since then Dream Theater have become my favourite band and Mike Portnoy my biggest influence and inspiration. I feel that I was naturally drawn towards prog because I always listened out for complex drum parts and always had a craving to do stuff that would be pushing the very limits of what I could play and I've done that since I started playing and continue to do that now. In terms of my abilities I have a firm grasp on odd-time signatures and also more recently have been really getting into cross timing or polyrythms and I have developed the ability to play very technically but not overplay and since listening to Gavin Harrison and Nick D'Virgilio have really started to combine feel into what I play and to make sure what I'm doing is more technical than your average rock groove but most importantly compliments the music overall.

My drum set up is petty standard but my cymbal set up is a bit more unorthdox: