Hands, Wrist & Forearm Issues

leftear

Greetings All,

I have been battling an on-going issue for several years now and hoping someone can provide some insight. Every time I begin to play whether at practice, or performance, my hands and forearms tighten up and hurt. Soon enough, it gets very difficult holding on to the sticks. Sometimes I find myself holding it with my index finger and thumb when ending a song. Sometimes I'll position the stick between my index and middle finger just alleviate the tension (but that only goes so far). I’ve done my research on Tendinitis and Carpal Tunnel Syndrome, but I don’t think I have either of these. I don’t have issues like this holding anything, varying degrees of sharp pain in wrists and arms during the day, etc. I only have these issues when playing drums. I am a heavy hitter and have talked to various drummers about this. Some suggested it’s technique, some say I am not warming up properly before I begin to play, some asked if I was holding the stick too tight, etc.

I’ve done the following so far to try and improve the situation:

1. Warm up before practice with rolls, etc. This hasn’t worked whatsoever. Maybe I am not doing the appropriate warm up techniques, I don’t know.

2. Change my Techniques – I just starting working on this by using more of my pinky and ring finger and trying to let the drumhead do the work (rather than my arm.) It’s hard to tell if this has improved the situation as I just started, I think it’s going to take sometime. I will say this is very hard to do since I play rock (and it’s heavy, fast straight rock, in your face with attitude)

3. Playing lighter and trying to relax – Like I said, I am heavy hitter, but my band hates it when I play light, I shouldn’t have to do that as I never had before.

4. Started squeezing a ball to strengthen the muscles in my wrists and forearms.

5. Changed from 5B stick to 2B.