gretsch renown maple

rufus4dagruv

I've been using my Renown's for almost 2 years now and I have been completely satisfied with them. This kit sells new in the states for about $1,500 which at the current exchange rate is about $1,667 Australian. What prices are other dealers selling similar kits for? The cherry red was discontinued about 3 years ago, I believe. Mine is this color, but the kit I bought was NOS and still in the boxes and got a very nice deal. If it stays around the current price, I would say that it is a good deal. No matter how you slice it, the Renowns are great drums for the money, IMHO.

rufus4dagruv

percussle":2z4ujwqy said:
hey what are the renown rosewood kits like ?. hx for the reply by the way
Anytime. I have never played/heard the rosewood kit, but I do know that it is very expensive. Rosewood is a great tone wood for acoustic guitars. Timekeep69 could probably give you a better idea of how the rosewood compares to maple in regards to tone.

Airborne Ranger

I think it's a good deal. The Renown Maple series are nice drums. They're the closest to the USA Custom series from Gretsch without the incredibly high price. They have the die-cast rims, 30 degree edges, silver sealer, same shell as the U.S. - made drums, for a lot less (because they're made overseas). The only thing I don't like about the line is the lack of finish options, they only come in a handful of colors.

xdoseonex

DrumFiend0206":3miknhf2 said:
I thought Reknown Maples had die-cast hoops? They look really nice though lol.