Financial Limitations anyone?

JustinDube

I'm Justin, 20, from Lewiston, Maine. Hello everyone. I've been playing since I was 12 or 13, self-taught except for complicated rudiments I learned in marching band. Oh, I played the quads 3 and a half years for the band, and proud of it.

I've read through tons and tons of threads here and I feel like I connect with almost all of you, whether it be a style of music thread or a tuning thread. But, I've also noticed that no one seems to have any problems building their sets and perfecting their dream kits. I'm one of the better drummers from my area, but I have the most ghetto set I've ever seen. The shells are a no name brand that I got from a music pawn shop like 6 years ago. I'm down to one mounted tom, and not by choice. One of my floor tom's leg won't stay screwed in anymore, so one side is held up by a wood block. My throne is torn up and won't adjust anymore. I have only my camber4000 hihats and 2 stolen 8+ year old crashes; both have minor cracks. I feel like the only parts of my set that make me proud are my tama doublebass pedal and the donated tom and bass heads. I've even gotten to the point where I'm using the butt-end of my sticks because they are all that I have left.

Does anyone else share my pain, or am I the only poor drummer out here?

Call me Gideon