Evans EMAD bass drum head

vargasdrumbeast

Ok I have a question for everyone

I have been using and Evans EMAD bass drum head for about 3 years now. I think its the best thing I could have done to my bass drum, and now everyone who has ever heard it, including my bandmates think its sounds so much better with it.

Has everyone else had as much success with their EMAD?

Just in case you dont know what it is its basically a bass drum head with an outer lining that can hold dampening rings.

zerodogma

Even though there are a few who put the EMAD down, I love mine. I have had one on for about 6 months with no problems. The only thing negative I would say is the EMAD resonant head is not very good. After the first few big thumps, the foam ring split (and the velcro mechanism they use to hold the foam dampening ring on is ineffective).

phantom1

The E Mad's sound great.Great punchy sound.

The only negative thing I would say is that the plastic channel for the damper ring split on my first E Mad head and I had to Gaffa it.

That didn't put me off though.They last ages.I just put a new one on last week after nearly 2 years with the last one :lol:

i just bought the EMAD bass reso today. my god it sounds great. i cant wait to use it at gigs.
ive never used evans before so i dont know if this is new or anything but i got those foam rings that you put on the edges of the mic hole. my bass drum sounds amazing!

sp4zium