Early Signs of Carpal Tunnel?

atomheartmuther

Hey, has anyone dealt or been dealing with carpal tunnel as a result of drumming? Just recently I've noticed my index and middle fingers in my right hand going numb shortly after I begin playing. I've also noticed that they are stiff and it's become harder to make a fist with those fingers as well. I work at UPS and I load heavy boxes all night long and since then I've noticed this problem arising. I'm almost positive it's early stages of carpal tunnel which sucks because I'm young and my drumming career has a lot more mileage left to go. It's extremely irritating and I was just wondering if anyone has these symptoms or has carpal tunnel in general and could give me some tips on managing it. thanks.

jwoo10

I've been playing for almost 40 years and have had NO problems til a few months ago.. I felt a strange numbness come over my forarms and a tingling in my fingers and wrists. I don't play with bad technique or this problem would have certainly cropped up before now.

I haven't seeked treatment for it yet.. but will post here again when I do... and let ya know whats up.

atomheartmuther

hey thanks for the quick reply! JIm and Dom are amazing! I saw those cyber videos a while back and am well aware of my technique. Again, I think it's work related problems and was wondering how one manages the problem.

demonicAngel

yup, well il use the moeller for very fast blast beats, people use the techniques there confirtable with, or the ones they just feel like using at the time. be careful on the amount of hours you spend on practicing too, because you know, your working out muscles...

jwoo10":2io9cqcd said:
I've been playing for almost 40 years and have had NO problems til a few months ago.. I felt a strange numbness come over my forarms and a tingling in my fingers and wrists. I don't play with bad technique or this problem would have certainly cropped up before now.