Drumsticks slipping

Hey everyone. Ive been playing drums for a few years now and i still let the stick slip down my hand to where Im pretty much just holding onto the butt of the stick. Ive tried using grip tape but my hands would sweat and I would get sticky black tape on my hands and it just got annoying. Any tips on holding the stick or a better product besides grip tape I could use?

Thanks!

BillRayDrums

What's happening is you are gripping too much in the front (thumb & index finger). Shift your grip throughout the whole of your hand; let all 4 fingers make contact with the stick.

Oh yeah, you are probably gripping too tight. Loosen up!

stump

Gripping technique is most likely your problem. Though if you correct your grip and continue to have a problem, check out Zildjian Zil-wax. Great for those hot sweaty situations.

Sprocket

i use drumming gloves in addition to grip tape and my sticks dont move lol. just take care not to get the gloves wet (aside from your hand sweating) because they tend to lose their grip after that. i've been through many a pair of drumming gloves because someone got them wet.

-Sprocket

crackheadback

I took a break from drumming for some time and then formed a band. At first I could not hold on to the sticks for anything. In fact not only did I use gloves, but I put football stickem on them to keep the sticks in my hand. I soon realized I was just hitting too damn hard and needed to back off a bit. Even with that, I seem to always end up holding the stick near the butt end. More than my grip, I think I hold them so far down to gain more leverage on the drum. I have tried longer sticks with the same result. I will try adjusting my grip as suggested.

osiris90210