Doubles on single kick

chachaman02

Hello all. I just joined drums my life. I have been drumming for 6 years. I play many different styles ranging from post-hardcore and metalcore to funk and progressive rock.

So here's the thing- Many drummers that I know recognize my playing style for many things, but one main thing they say i have are perfect doubles on the bass drum. Here's the catch; single pedal. No heel toe, just extreme practice. I was wondering how many other drummers are able to do perfect doubles with single kick. What do you use them for, where do they fit into your playing style? Just outta curiousity.

Well discuss away.

anavrinIV

i dont really get what youre talking about...are you saying that you can play really fast with one foot or that you can get 2 really quick strokes without heel/toe or a double pedal? congrats on either, i consider myself slow even with a double pedal but i can do heel/toe and use it all the time.

drummert2k

good to hear from someone who takes the extra hours of practice to learn things the right way (which is usually the hard way) i personally found that besides heel toe, there are a few things you can do to really help get double and even triples out of a single kick. although putting the blood and sweat into learning to do something without tricks will especially help in a situation where you arent on a familiar kit. although i have nothing against heel toe and any other drumming trick, its good to know theres other drummers out there that go past their comfort level to achieve what they're trying to do.

that being said, playing doubles without tricks or anything is awesome, but dont let it stop you from expanding your knowledge and also learning heel toe, costant release, swivle, and other bass drums techniques. you've be very happy in the long run.

chachaman02

anavrinIV":2igj7ul3 said: