Dexterity

Locks

I have been playing drums for 2 years now and most of the time I've practiced working on my time and pocket, but I've found that the trouble I am having isn't time it is dexterity, having independence from my right hand my left hand and the kick.
Some of my friends told me to practice latin grooves but I dont know any.
Does anyon know any excersises to practice indpendence of the limbs.

Flatliner

Books like Syncopation, Advance Techniques for the Modern drummer others are out there, if you have a good drum shop in your town you should be able to ask them and they should be able to help you out. If you have Thomas Lang's new DVD "Creative Cordination" pretty much the entire second DVD deals with that issue.

JSdrmr

Try Humbuerto Morales "How to Play Latin Amerian Rhythm Instruments" book. Use the timbale/cowbell/foot figues BUT switch it to ride/snare/bass drum. The grooves are authentic and sound really cool with the snare in the 'off' position PLUS they work wonders for independence and dexterity. Good luck!!!!

drummert2k