Decrease in skill.

I've been playing drums for almost 14 years now, and lately I've been kind of off with my playing. Things like I'm not as fast now as I was like 5 months ago, with my hands and double bass, if anyone knows any way that i could get my groove back, please let me know.

devilspain

dude dont play for a couple of weeks and do something else. when you come back to play you'll have missed it so much you'll play spot on after a quick warm up. works for me. i dunno i find i play loads better after having a break.

other things that help me get back on game.

1. buy a new drum part, cymbal, tom, shaker, bell, snare, etc, go wth different drum heads. this usually inspires me to play.

2. go see a local band or band of that matter more inspiration.

3. change your set up.

4. find out something you can't do and learn it. try a hard polyrhythm and try to incorporate in your playing. (fun to add to songs in my band it really throws them and they give me strange looks. very amusing ^^.

5. see other comments. good luck

Howepirate

i'd say give yourself a rest if your constantly playing for say everyday and all the time you can be overworking yourself take a few days break and if that doesnt work try and watch other peoples soloing and playing like on youtube.com which has a lot of pros and whatnot on there anything from dave weckl to that kid down the street whos 14 and plays garbage so you have a selection

Shalaq

I'd say learn something new. Be it a new rudiment, coordination exercises, double pedal maybe? Maybe learn the free stroke or heel-toe with the feet :)
Maybe listen to other genres of music? It took me from rock to metal to electronics to nu-jazz to drum&bass to funk to jazz and now I slowly work on the clave coordination with my feet(for examle I play the clave with my hihat foot and agogo samba pattern with my hands on the bells of cymbals, or a tambourine samba pattern PlPlPPlPlPlPlPPl)