Cymbals for hard hitters? HELP

Jum-Bo-Lya

Im a really hard hitting drummer, and I have tried not hitting so hard, but its just my style. So I have cracked my sabian B8 crash ride and 16" crash, and the other day I cracked my Sabian XS20 china, I really need some cymbals that will stand up to a little force. Any suggestions?

Rockula!

Large sizes like 20"
Medium weights
Try going for different modeals of large sizes for differents pitches
For example
I use a 20" Zildjian Med ride and a 20" Zildjian A-custom ride as crashes
The A-cust is brighter than the regular A

Go to a music store with a fairly decent cymbal selection (unfortunately, it probably means that you have to go to GC) and crash on all the large cymbals
Don't pay attention to what the cymbal is made for, just crash on anything large
Whatever sounds good, well, sounds good
Be it a ride or a crash

I am a Zildjian snob myself, but if you don't care about the brand, just go with anything that sounds good
Also, see if you can use a bass drum to accent your crashing
A good bass drum punch will give you a more realistic idea of what the cymbal will sound like when you use it in the real world

Try to stick to medium wieghts and don't believe the hype about "Hard Rock" or "Metal" cymbals
Many of them are all punch and no resonance

screamkevin

Rockula is dead on, Jum-Bo-Lya. Heavy or "metal" weight cymbals are thicker and have less "give" to them. Medium weight cymbals flex more, thereby allowing the vibration to dissapate better. I used to play Zildjian Z Custom Crashes, but every one of 'em was a Medium weight. Never cracked a single one, and I beat the heck out of my drums.

No offense, but you also may want to re-examine your technique for playing cymbals, too. And make sure to invest in cymbal springs for your china. A must-have item, or you'll crack 'em left and right.

anavrinIV

screamkevin":2rgrvz81 said: