critique my drumming

drummerjbz

hey Jebuz here...I have been playing drums for about 5 years off and on self-taught and I was hoping to get some critique, pointers, or just to see what other drummer thought of my drumming.....I prefer honesty over anything...so honesty is prefer.....the website is www.myspace.com/heroesrghosts

the style is Hardcore/Rock/Punk just so y'all know......

Rockaflodge

Hey man, for the most part it was good, that music is not my cup of tea butlike I said, for the most part it was good. The only real thing I noticed was the tempo speeded up and slowed down alote, did you use a click track? If you did not, that is something I would suggest and in some part your foot work was a little off from the rest of your playing but that could have been a screw up in the studio. You are a good drummer and with some more years under your belt we all will be saying we knew you when. Good luck man.

drummert2k

yeah, like stated above, not really the kinds of music im into but drums werent horrible. recording to a click if you didnt would help to clean some stuff up. there are a few tempo issues. and at the beggining the snare fills dont really seem to be 100% on at the end. a problem i've noticed a lot is when playing a fill or something you anticipate whats coming up and that tends to crush the last note ot two of your fill. so keep that in your mind while playing. also, work on your bass drum consistancy. you want a super solid bass drum and there were a few parts where the kick sounds a little weak between beats. but very good start for saying you've only been playing on and off for a few years now.

one thing i would highly recommend..... invest in some lessons. even if its only for like a year. because you will have an instrustor there to break your bad habbits for you and also pick out stuff you might not even realized you did. it wil help greatly

drummerjbz