collage music/drumming

seandude

whats like a collage for drumming as a major or in music cause i wannabe a drumer for the rest of my life and idk what i should major in.....im sooon to be a seinyor so i need to pick

im a very good drummer not to brag(my etacher says im really good) but how hard is it?

drummert2k

a lot of it depends on what school you end up going to. but make sure you're doing as much as possible while still in high school so you can have good references and try to get into a good school for music. if your planning on going to school for music you obviously should be taking classes like concert band, marching band, choir, basically any mucis class your school has to offer. but you should also look into any extra curricular music things your school offers. things like Jazz band and stuff like that. colleges dont seem to care if you play drumset in a rock band and your band plays 10 shows a month. they want to know you've had proper training so they can expand on what you already know. and having music teachers in highschool that will give you good recommendation will help greatly. but there are tons of schools out there that you can major in music in (although about 98% of them involve learning to play piano, brass instruments, woodwinds, ect.) you might wanna focus on finding a school where you can actually major in only percussion unless you'd be into learning how to play tons of instruments and have to be able to fluently read sheet music for all those instruments.

But whether you're a good drummer or not aside, you need to make sure you've done enough in the line of music classes in highschool so a music school will actually even consider your application.

Gaddabout

It sounds to me like you want to be a drum set major, and that's very different from being a percussion major. There are only a few schools I know of that actually offer a drum set major, and they're extremely hard to get into: