Check out this cymbal

drumshark

I know this should probably be in the cymbals section, but i figured it wouldnt get the attention it deserved their.
After a few trials, i figured out the best way to age your cymbal, soak it in a tub full of water bleach and salt.

Here are some pics, im not very good at this stuff, but hopefully itll work.

drumshark

Howepirate":1zno2a99 said:
Wow dude you could like sand the patina of of that
ya i recently did it, so the patina is still losely connected to the metal, but hopefully it will make a stronger bond after a month or so.

iatemygoat

can someone explain "dark" to me or is it something you just have to hear. ive got a 5 year old ride, do you think it should sound "darker" now than when i got it new?

Rob Crisp

Don't think anyone has actually asked this yet, but did it work? Did you get the sound you wanted/expected to?

michiganice91

iatemygoat":15xqtkqn said:
can someone explain "dark" to me or is it something you just have to hear. ive got a 5 year old ride, do you think it should sound "darker" now than when i got it new?
According to Meinl Cymbals

Dark
cymbals are not lathed and have their original appearance and sound characteristic.
They are distinguished by an earthy sound with a fairly short sustain.

and

Extra Dry
cymbals have big, deep hammer marks which in combination with the untreated, natural finish enable an extremely dark sound with a short sustain. Dominant lows with an esoteric character.

drumshark

i helped, the ZBT ride sucks, so the patina could only do soo much, but it definately helped get rid of some of the unwanted overtones. But i guarentee you, if you did this to a brilliant finish 14 inch, it would make a HUGE difference in the sound, or a splash could also be changed drasticly, i dont have a splash yet, but when i get one, ill probly do some tests on it.

Howepirate

michiganice91":33wfasbm said:
Howepirate":33wfasbm said:
michiganice91":33wfasbm said:
the purpose of this is???