Buying a new cymbal =/

mfdrummer

I'm Stephanie and I'm new to these boards. I've been playing for two years and I'm looking into buying a new crash (preferably Paiste). Does anyone have advice on choosing cymbals? Or the average prices? Thanks. :)

anavrinIV

play around and buy what you like, dont pick a name first and try to find something that fits it.

and price is all relative. i have a crash that costs 140 new to one that costs 300 new...its all about preference. tell us the sound youre after and your price range and well do all we can.

Shalaq

Also think about what music you play and what sticks do you play. Choosing the right cymbals for your style and sticks will prevent you from cracking them.

Dale

mfdrummer":japyq3bk said:
I'm Stephanie and I'm new to these boards. I've been playing for two years and I'm looking into buying a new crash (preferably Paiste). Does anyone have advice on choosing cymbals? Or the average prices? Thanks. :)
Hi Stephanie. Welcome to the forum.

As the other guys have said, buying cymbals is very personal. I recomend that you visit a drumstore and speak with the sales people. Tell them your situation, for example are you just practicing at home, what type of band you are in etc. This will give them an idea as to what recomendations would suit you. An example would be that if you were not in a heavy metal band and just practicing at home or working in a mid volume band, a Paiste RUDE would not suit your needs.

What it really comes down to is your playing situation coupled with your personal taste.

As a side note, I recomend you check out some of the smaller brands such as Meinl, Turkish, Istanbul etc. These cymbals are awesome and sell at a cheaper price than Sabian, Paiste or Zildjian.

phoenix7289

There are a few good types I would suggest....
Paiste RUDE
Paiste Signature Reflector (VERY expensive)
Paiste 2002 Series
Those might be good.... some famous drummers use a number of them.

mfdrummer