Breaking Vic Firth sticks

xdoseonex

Since i started playing drums i was always a big fan of vic firth stick. They were pretty much all i used. But i used to break them constantly. After a friend told me that he didnt like them because he breaks them too easily i decided to try to vater and i'v only broken 1 stick since.

Does anyone else that plays vic firth sticks feel like theyre rweally easy to break?

chachaman02

Actually, I broke a pair today. Not one stick, a pair. I use only vic firth but I'm thinking of switching up fro that exact reaon. it seems like even when i get new sticks and play with them for like one minutes (and i DON'T PLAY HARD) they just start breaking. Maybe I'll try Promarks...

Rockula!

Vater has proven to be very resilliant for me
I have been playing them for approximately 15 years
I used to play Zildjian but the nylon tips always came off
You can never find a wooden stick with nylon tips that don't fly off every once in a while but Vaters are the most reliable in my experience
The 3a is my weapon of choice because it is shorter than most, has a good hefty feel to it and has a very thick taper with a round tip
I play the snare with the stick backwards

All of my snares have zinc die cast rims on the top, and I hit rimshots 95% of the time
This tends to chew upsticks very quickly
I just see it as a necessary evil
After all, the sculptor never regrets destroying his materials
My sticks don't so much break as they splinter right in the middle (due to the high profile of the rim) instead of the typical breaking at the tip

I can't really stop breakage but i can prolong the inevitable by wrapping the middle of the stick with dollar store electrical tape
When the stick starts to wobble, then I know it is losing structural integrity and I better change it soon
It also works to extend the life of your tips too of you give it a couple of wraps just below the tip