Breaking it to a band mate...

Musicfreak15678

I had been playing with a friend of mine since 10th grade. It has been two years since I graduated. He played guitar and nothing else. We never really progressed anywhere. We made a few originals but it didn't lead to anything. So, a guy he works with came along and joined us about 4-5 months ago. This new guy is an excellent guitar player and can sing as well. This new guy and I clicked right from the begining. But my other friend wanted to play one style while the new guy and I wanted to play a different style. I didn't want to ruin my friendship with him since I have known him almost my whole life. So, I (we) got rid of him in a professional manner about 2 months ago. We didn't want to offend him in anyway. He wasn't happy at first, but I'm sure he has got over it. It had to be done because we felt we weren't progressing with him. I (we) actually wanted to progress and if that wasn't happening, then what was the point? To be in the band just because he is my friend was out of the question. So, my question to you is:

Have you had to let a band mate go and if so, how did you do it and what were the results?

brokenstix

I have gone through the exact same thing. It was the bassist. We told he couldnt play to well and we wanted a new bassist. He knew he could play good and took well. But were still freinds (we have been since age 2) and play together SOMETIMES and that reminds us why we booted him.

STAK

i actually had to confront this problem last week.......actually, this guy had been in the band longer than i had..........stylistically, the fit was tenuous at best and he got along terribly with the lead singer........replacing the lead singer was out of the question.......and this guy was getting really whiney on a consistent basis and seemed really unhappy............