Breaking Cymbals REALLY Fast

woody476

Hey Everybody,

I've been drumming for about 3 years now and I have only broken 1 cymbal, which was given to me in bad shape, and was a CB cymbal, and had dents all over it, but this isn't about me.

I played a show last week with a bunch of bands and this one kid had a elaborate kit: Cast cymbals, a rack, good heads. You know, the works. I went onstage after their set and looked at all of his cymbals. BROKEN! And really bad too! Like Pieces 4 inches chipped off and he's still playing on them. I looked practiuarly at his 18 AAX China, I asked him "How long have you had this?" He said about a month.

WTF?

How do you break Z Customs, AAX's and other heavy cast cymbals in such a short ammount of time? Are you playing with like metal mallets from a locksmith?

Has anyone else encountered this problem?

Great forum btw. I've never felt so welcome in a forum!

cgaffka

i cracked on zildjian 16" crash, i still play it and it still sounds fine. hmm idk how i could even break all of those cymbals if i tried!

RussInsane

I ask the same question. I broke a Zildjian ZBT 16" crash at 9 months so I got smart and I got the money and I bought an 18" Z Custom Rock Crash and Ive had it for a year and a half. I also hit my cymbals harder then the people whos cymbals break so easily its probably how the cymbals are taken care of. Always take really good care of your cymbals. My drum teacher has cymbals from the 50's that still sound amazing, so take care of them.

Scott_Hurford

i dont see how he can break cast cymbals in 1 month :? he must be a REALLY hard hitter with poor technique, tht must be it.
i've got a 16" ZBT crash now, i've had it for about 5 months now, and its just as good as when i bought it, no cracks, dents or nothing, just a little dirty :D thts how i like them haha.
and thts sheet bronze :shock: this just goes to show, that having a good technique is really worth it, especially if your on a low budget

ShadowDrummer