BIRCH VS MAPLE!!! HELP!!!

WesNyle

Hello, ok im buying a new kit, its a Mapex not sure if I want the <A HREF="http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Mapex-M-Birch-6Piece-Drum-Set-with-Free-8-Tom?sku=449727">M Birch</A> or the <A HREF="http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Mapex-Pro-M-Studio-6Piece-Drum-Set-with-Free-Snare?sku=449148">Pro M (Maple)</A> PLEASE HELP!!! Ive been playing for about two years and can play decently but dont know alot about the DRUMS themselves, PLEASE HELP ME!!!!

drummert2k

im a fan of birch myself. maple has a really great uniformed level of lows, mids and highs. all about the same with great body and warmth.

birch has the low end and mids of maple but the highs are boosted just a bit. i find it helps the attack but still maintains the body and fullness.

i'd tell ya to go to a music store and find a birch kit and a maple kit and give a few hits so you can hear for yourself.

anavrinIV

im also a fan of birch. ive always found that birch sets sound deeper than the maples i compare them to and the sound is spectacular.

i think the only thing better might be african mahogany/bubinga.

Howepirate

drummert2k":sy2470n8 said:
im a fan of birch myself. maple has a really great uniformed level of lows, mids and highs. all about the same with great body and warmth.

birch has the low end and mids of maple but the highs are boosted just a bit. i find it helps the attack but still maintains the body and fullness.

i'd tell ya to go to a music store and find a birch kit and a maple kit and give a few hits so you can hear for yourself.
You couldn't have said that better.

iatemygoat

drummert2k":1lxmww6z said:

you read that right from the wesite didnt u? haha

im actually in the same boat as this guy but am definately leaning towards the birch more and more. same kit i think. the 6 piece with the free 10" tom. black forest green, mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

Sway