Bass drum Port Hole

EOTE_drummer

can somebody tell me a good way to cut a port hole? i normally get them pre-cut, but i wanna switch out with ones i already have that don't have one. in other words, im a noob to cutting the port hole, because ive never done it. i just don't want 2 mess up the head, or make the hole uneven, wear it may eventually tear. maybe just a razor blade, but how would u get that "perfect circle"? and also will it affect the sound if you don't do it right?

drumur

Buy a template...i think Remo has them(I think they're called RemOs).
Oh I think Aquarian makes them too.
You stick it on the head, then take the head off.
Trace the hole with a single edge razor.

nordwest

take the head off and put it to the wooden surface (on which a knife will not slide and be damaged). Then press on a dish of proper size as a model and cut a circle with scalpel. Good luck.

JAdrums2k

SGarrett":3to05q8h said:
drumur":3to05q8h said:
Buy a template...i think Remo has them(I think they're called RemOs).
Oh I think Aquarian makes them too.
You stick it on the head, then take the head off.
Trace the hole with a single edge razor.
Yes.

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Remo-Dynamo-3Pack-Hole-Saver?sku=442944
http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Aquarian-Port-Hole?sku=449351

I like the PortHoles.
Yes yes... portholes.
Use a template that you can cut INSIDE the circle, that way if you slip w/ the knife it won't cut outside the circle, and will still be perfectly round

Rockula!

This has been advanced on other threads but I have used this method before
Take a metal can the size of the hole you want
Heat the can up on the stove (use oven mitts)
The heated can will melt a perfectly round hole in the mylar
Not only that, but there will be a small bead around the edge of the hole
Rem Os and the like would be perfect for protecting the edges of the hole
I just use electrical tape because I don't want any type of muffling (even minimal as a Rem O is)

Brother_Bong