Axis AA-X VS. Axis AX-A whats the difference?

Howepirate

Thats the difference right there:

X= No VDL (variable drive lever)
A= Yes VDL

Makes a bigggg difference because you can independently change the footboard height and keep the beater the same distance away from the head.

m

yep- that's the difference, the VDL assembly.

from the Axis website:

"The variable drive lever allows the player to obtain the feel of any type of pedal with one simple adjustment.
The Variable Drive Lever changes the ratio of the footboard movement to the arc of the beater."

http://axispercussion.com/pedals.html

I own a Double A, an X, and a Longboard X. I like the feel of the A a little better, but I don't adjust the VDL too often.

Jriddim

yeah thats what i thought... but dude look in the pictures... both of them have that pole thing... look luckaly i am a graphic designer!

m

huh, Guitar Center goofed up.
The X does not have a VDL assembly, though there is definitely one shown in the pic.
Someone made a mistake there

the X strap assembly should look like this:

Jriddim

wow stupid guitar center...lol what do you guys think of the A footboard compared to the x? it looks quite narrow

m

Jriddim":2rjkjv7q said:
wow stupid guitar center...lol what do you guys think of the A footboard compared to the x? it looks quite narrow
I like the narrow board~ feels fine to me. I don't really notice much difference when I'm playing.

One of my favorite aspects of Axis pedals (which became even more apparent this week when I bought a Trick pedal to compare)
is the 'foot clearance.' One of the things I don't like about pedals with a tower/post on both sides is that it can be a problem for big shoes, if you put your foot that far up the board (which I do) I always felt like the DWs were constricting because of this design.
I love how the Axis gives you so much clearance between your foot and the beater assembly.