audition tips??? PLEASE

slingerland66

werd... so i just did an audition for a band. they complimented my playing and enjoyed me enough to ask me back for a second audition. Now, heres my dilemma. they are also auditioning another drummer who is semi pro... ive been playing for 12 years, but dont have much of a portfolio.. everyone ive tried to make a serious band with has flaked out.. i dont think being center 1st snare in the drumline really counts... or that i contributed to best percussion 4 years ina row..

i did play their songs FLAWLESSLY tho... and have been told by my jazz professor in college i have great feel chops and creativity.

what advice can you guys give me to get the upper hand for my next audition on saturday night???

thanks,

-Phill-

zen_drummer

Do what you do best.... BE YOURSELF!

Play the drums... play them well and leave your ego, if any, at the door. Show the band your personality between songs... they are deciding on a band mate and sometimes the person they enjoy hanging out with will get the gig instead of the guy with the best chops. Having the best chops helps, but it's not always going to get you the gig. Having good chops and being easy, and enjoyable to hang with is a winning combination.

rlrrll

zen_drummer said:

Play the drums... play them well and leave your ego, if any, at the door. Show the band your personality between songs... they are deciding on a band mate and sometimes the person they enjoy hanging out with will get the gig instead of the guy with the best chops. Having the best chops helps, but it's not always going to get you the gig. Having good chops and being easy, and enjoyable to hang with is a winning combination.
I totally agree with Zen. Just do your thing and let them decide if that's the vibe they want for their band. I say be early, be friendly, but most of all, be professional and play your ass off!! After that, it's up to them.