Are self taught drummers likely to have the wrong technique?

\m/-Kyon-\m/

Thanks to a post from paabs (thanks paabs) about pro drummers technique, I got to thinking, what about self taught drummers? Being self taught completely ive always wondered if im playing with the wrong technique, but I've never experienced any injury or serious uncomfort during, or after playing. I've read some books that show proper technique, and ive always tried my best to do it the right way, but i still wonder. Any help would greatly appreciated. Thanks

DrumsPlus

I think it really depends on the individual. Some people naturally have good technique, and really they just need fine tuning. Others, can develop bad habits early and it stays with them.

When I think of someone having a natural ability to just play without formal training, I think of Chris Adler. His technique is clean and exacting. So I think it is possible, but maybe not advised.

\m/-Kyon-\m/

DrumsPlus":3f0uev25 said:
I think it really depends on the individual. Some people naturally have good technique, and really they just need fine tuning. Others, can develop bad habits early and it stays with them.

When I think of someone having a natural ability to just play without formal training, I think of Chris Adler. His technique is clean and exacting. So I think it is possible, but maybe not advised.
Awesome thanks man! Chris Adler is one of my favorite drummers hands down so thats reassuring to know a bad ass drummer is also self taught!

DrumsPlus

\m/-Kyon-\m/":23yoz5r2 said:
DrumsPlus":23yoz5r2 said:

Awesome thanks man! Chris Adler is one of my favorite drummers hands down so thats reassuring to know a bad ass drummer is also self taught!
Just remember that he said it took him years of practicing up to 8 hours a day to get where he is. He has also said that he has a problem articulating things to other musicians without training.