Ahead Drumsticks...

Jum-Bo-Lya

I have been useing ahead for about 6 months, And I thought they were awsome. I have the Joey Jordison and the lars Ulrich sticks. But today I just picked up my promarks for some reason, and they feel soooo much lighter and easier to move. Should I stick with ahead?

pooJken

I prefer the sound of wood tips

I played AHEAD for over a year, and a half year ago I switched to Pro-Mark, and I never switch again, I know for sure

besides AHEAD wil crush your cymbals.

And further, about the feel, its just what you like most

skdrummer

i love my ahead drumsticks
whats great is you just have to replace the sleeve because the metal will almost never break
i hav had no problems with it and my cymbals

zen_drummer

I do a LOT of backbeat rimshots, and I trashed at least a dozen pair of ahead sticks back when I used them (5 years ago). Three or four sets of sleeves then the metal does eventually fatigue and break. They ended up costing a little more than wood sticks when you figure in the sleeves.

I'm back to Vic Firths... They feel better.

Alcyon

I love my Lars Ulrichs... Been through 2 pairs of sleeves so far, but the sticks are holding up really well. With some Vater griptape on them they're comfortable as hell.

jbreshears

For some reason i just don't like the Ahead sticks. Of course that's just my opinion. Love the sound of wood.

Multibomber

Aheads dont wreck your cymbals. Incorrect cymbal technique wrecks your cymbals. You just have to remember that Aheads are bigger and heavier than normal sticks. A 7A Ahead stick is equivalent to a 5A Pro-Mark or Vic Firth. I hate sawdust and hate breaking sticks. Even if your Ahead stick breaks in the middle of a song, you can still use it til the songs over, which is very nice.