After 1 year of playing

luiss009

I've been playing the drums for about one year already and i would like to know what songs i should be able to play or what songs you guys could play after a year

no double bass ones please , i dont have one

anavrinIV

theres no specific place you should be at because everyone learns at a different pace. ive been playing almost 3 and a half years and im mostly trying to learn dream theater and rush kind of stuff but its still really hard for me. have you been taking lessons or are you self taught? i took lessons for over 2 years and i think that they got me to progress much more quickly than i would have if i taught myself.

luiss009

im self taught

im learning la villa strangiato for music class

but i just wanted to no where otheres were

screamkevin

Luis,

Congrats on learning a difficult Rush song! There's really no way to guage where you "should" be after a year of drumming, everyone learns at their own speed. As long as you feel that you are making progress and getting better, than that's right where you should be.

Keep up the great work,and happy drumming!

evolusean

latin GROOVES!!!!!!!!!!! wow, ive been playing for 3 years and i got interested in latin grooves like 6 months ago. now. i feel more versatile and free. kinda more like a set drummer :)

rockon2112yyz

well if your'e already learning la villa strangelo, I would suggest more rush songs. the ones with easy time signatures are off the second album fly by night. Neil didn't join the band until the second album. Dream Theater has some hard songs too, the only trouble is finding one that dosen't need a double bass. I would also suggest expanding your styles into latin or jazz to become a well-rounded drummer.

WhiteOleander

evolusean":v1sf9pd3 said:
latin GROOVES!!!!!!!!!!! wow, ive been playing for 3 years and i got interested in latin grooves like 6 months ago. now. i feel more versatile and free. kinda more like a set drummer :)