A newbie that needs help !

stephenchong

Hi guys ! I'm new to this forum and this is my first post. I'm a 15-year old guy that's in love with drums. Period. :D

I have been learning drum beats myself(self-taught) for around a year or so. Currently i can't get my own drumset and a drum teacher to teach me yet. Do you guys have any ways or methods/practices which you guys know that can help me improve myself in drumming ? Rock beats, anything ! I want to have at least some knowledge or skills before approaching and learning drums so i would advance and learn easier ?

I'm currently learning from videos posted on youtube and doing the Derek Roddy exercise. I practice rudiments i find on the internet on my dictionary. Lol. :wink:

So, do you guys have any tips and advice/recommendations ? Like getting rid of any bad habits ?

I moved this post here cause i didnt know which forum i should put this on. Help is greatly appreciated. Thanks ! :)

screamkevin

Welcome to the forums, and to drumming!

The best advice that I can give, after 34 years of playing is this: Get a teacher and practice, practice, practice.

Derek Roddy is awesome, but you need to learn the basics first. You gotta walk before you can run. There's lots of great advice here on DML, just comb through the forums, and don't be afraid to check out the "Drum Lessons" portion. Also some other awesome lessons can be found here: http://www.rockdrummingsystem.com/underground/

Some other tips:

1. LEARN TO READ MUSIC. You'll get a lot farther with drumming if you know the "language". It'll open up doors for you that will otherwise be locked. I cannot stress this enough.

2. Be patient. It takes time. Nothing comes overnight or instantly. It takes a lot of practice, hard work, and patience.

3. Listen to any kind of music you can get your hands on. You can learn something from everything, but you cannot learn everything from one thing.

Good luck, and keep playing!!

Brother_Bong

screamkevin":36ate4pe said: