A Drummer's Life

mortem

Heya people!
I have this huge question that has been bugging my mind for a long time now. I'm currently studying an engineering major on Information Technology... the thing is, I'm not really happy here, or anywhere else, except for where the music is. So I'm trying to make up my mind - drop this bullshit major and dedicate my life to music (with a conservatory training, of course)... or stay in school and consider music as a hobby, just like now. Or finishing my major and then get conservatory training afterwards.

So, I have a couple of questions for the pro's... how hard was your decision on dedicating your life to music? and, how hard is life for a drummer nowadays?

Cheers!

Gaddabout

I've gone back and forth, so I think I might have some special insight on this.

Here's something they never tell you in music school: Playing music for a living is work. It's also lonely, boring, isolating, and sometimes downright aggravating. There is an equal distribution of idiots in the music business, just like the corporate world. You have to work with people you don't like, even more so than in the corporate world, because you're a self-employed independent contractor.

It's a job, man. Just like any other, except if you're successful you're a little more prone to show up for your 20th high school reunion.