kylevater

i was the same way
ask anybody here, they all had to start from somewhere
but it took like 30 minutes to get a simple beat going with the hh base and snare
youll get it
practice (you knew that was coming)

I remember in the real early days I didn't really know where the bass drum came in. I listened to tracks and just tried really hard to do 2-time shit with just the hi-hat and the snare. Then one day I was listening to an AC/DC track and understood what was going on. I eventually found out that was being used everywhere in music. It sounded pretty cool, so I started practicing on it and was finally able to work out a rock beat and some simple fills by the time I finally got myself lessons.

That said, I would recommend starting on rudiments first before trying to do beats and all. I know it may be boring, but it will help you an awful lot. Stick control would also be worth your time.

I don't want to discourage you from trying to play a beat, though. Hell, you can try to learn to play a beat, learn some rudiments, try playing the beat, etc. I'm sure you'll see/hear some sort of improvement.

Don't let the bastards cut you down.

Mr.Smash

cbean419":1ng9jfx5 said:
I just started playing drums, I got a lesson, and I was doing okay but then I couldn't really play a simple beat with the snare, bass, and crash cymbal. How were you the first time you played? I feel like I'm not gonna be good at all cause I couldn't do that one simple rhythm.
Once you get that it will branch..... and then those branches, will branch... and so on a so forth. keep at it. You gotta start somewhere.

cableman26

cbean419":fpsxh5p7 said:
I just started playing drums, I got a lesson, and I was doing okay but then I couldn't really play a simple beat with the snare, bass, and crash cymbal. How were you the first time you played? I feel like I'm not gonna be good at all cause I couldn't do that one simple rhythm.