Lessons or self-taught?

Post here anything about the world of drumming. Equipment, music, drum gear, artists, events, gigs, and anything else drum set related!

Moderator: Moderators

MrChops
beginner
beginner

Post Thu Nov 09, 2006 11:26 am

Im just curious as to wheter you guys prefer lessons or being self-taught.

I am self taught and have been playing roughly 14 years and am extremely happy with the level that I am at. It just doesn't make sense to me to take lessons. Besides ... im broke and can't afford them even if I wanted to. :P
Amateurs practice until they can get it right.
Professionals practice until they can't get it wrong.
Dale
session drummer
session drummer

Post Thu Nov 09, 2006 11:34 am

Both. I still take lessons. I also teach drums and percussion.
I don't know what I'm talking about!

"Don't play FOR people. Play WITH people."
- Papa Jo Jones
Dale
session drummer
session drummer

Post Thu Nov 09, 2006 11:37 am

MrChops, if you can, try to find Louis Bellson's book on how to read music. That way, even if you can't afford lessons, you can get things out of the exercises in magazines and books. If you want to be serious and have a career, it makes a lot of sense to learn to read. It's not hard.

- Papa Jo Jones
MrChops
beginner
beginner

Post Thu Nov 09, 2006 12:39 pm

Dale wrote:MrChops, if you can, try to find Louis Bellson's book on how to read music. That way, even if you can't afford lessons, you can get things out of the exercises in magazines and books. If you want to be serious and have a career, it makes a lot of sense to learn to read. It's not hard.

I can read music. Rather well, I was basically just seeing what everyone else's point of view on whether or not they prefer to take lessons.
Amateurs practice until they can get it right.
Professionals practice until they can't get it wrong.
Dale
session drummer
session drummer

Post Thu Nov 09, 2006 12:52 pm

MrChops wrote: