Rimshots for Backbeat

Tama, Pearl, Yamaha, Premier, Mapex etc.

Moderator: Moderators

Rob Crisp
groove master
groove master

Post Sat Nov 04, 2006 8:51 pm

After a thread on here and chatting with a few other drummers I started playing rimshots on the snare to get more tone and a fatter sound.

I love it, think my snare sounds the best it ever has.

Unfortunately my band mates aren't too keen and asked me to stop. Turns out the drummer before me also played rimshots and they convinced him (with the help of our sound engineer) to stop.

Personally I think I should carry on playing rimshots, but I thought i'd see what the concensuss was on here!

So rimshots, ass kicking backbeat, or unneccessary?
Shalaq
session drummer
session drummer

Post Sun Nov 05, 2006 12:47 am

I don't use rimshots when the tip is in the center of the drum. I use them to get that jazz-like high end ping(the tip of the stick on the sides). I think the backbeat rimshot chokes the sound, I just play louder for the backbeat and very soft for ghost notes.
Mapex, Istanbul Agop, Attack, Vater/O4D.
I want an endorsement :)
Quick link to the search engine:
http://www.drumsmylife.com/search.php
Qbs
drumming adept
drumming adept

Post Sun Nov 05, 2006 7:21 am

ALWAYS use rimshots for those essentials backbeats :).
First of all, it allows to have a significant difference in dynamics between the accented and non accented notes. Second, I personally believe that a rimshot is much more 'right' sounding when a solid backbeat is needed - also almost every professional drummer I've met advised me to use backbeats and I ought to think they know what they're talking about.
Of course I've seen many drummers play without rimshots even outside jazz but I've always got the feeling that the snare isn't really cutting through especially when the drums were unmiced.

Also, I don't want to sound too self-centered, but it's your sound and you don't tell your guitarist what strings or pick-ups he should choose, right?