Do you play any other instruments?

Post here anything about the world of drumming. Equipment, music, drum gear, artists, events, gigs, and anything else drum set related!

Moderator: Moderators

Qbs
drumming adept
drumming adept

Post Fri Nov 03, 2006 3:57 pm

Do you play any other instruments or just drums? Does it help your drumming if you're playing another instrument?
Rhytm is a way to transmit a description of experience
in an emotional and not abstract way.
It is more than a metaphor:
It is a physical experience as real as any other.
top drummer
beginner
beginner

Post Fri Nov 03, 2006 3:59 pm

I play a little bit keyboards and it definitaly helps my drumming - I am able to think more about the whole song not just my part
keep on drummin!
miranda
new
new

Post Sat Nov 04, 2006 12:14 am

i started playing piano before drums, and STILL play it - been about 7 years now, and i also play a bit of guitar. it helps ALOT with sight reading and things for dums
Qbs
drumming adept
drumming adept

Post Sat Nov 04, 2006 6:07 am

seems I need to learn to play another instrument :)
catkel
beginner
beginner

Post Sat Nov 04, 2006 7:46 am

I play a little bit of guitar and piano, after i started to learn the drums, i realised how much knowing about other different instruments helps with your own playing and its good to be able to play more than one instrument
doggett68
new
new

Post Sun Nov 05, 2006 3:38 am

besides drums i play piano, guitar, bass, violen slightly. it really helps when i'm jamming with my buddies, i can really predict where the song is going and just instinctively know the right transitions.
drumstogo
new
new

Post Sun Nov 05, 2006 4:33 am

i also play guitar, bass, piano, i arrange, produce, and engineer.