Snare drum tuning question

Post here anything about the world of drumming. Equipment, music, drum gear, artists, events, gigs, and anything else drum set related!

Moderator: Moderators

Strychnine Groove
beginner
beginner

Post Thu Oct 19, 2006 9:21 am

Hi, My name is Robbie and I am new here. I have been playing drums for 20 years and I am playing with a band based in Greenville NC named Strychnine soul.

I have a question that maybe some of you could shed some light on. I have been playing a stainless steel Tama 6 1/2 x 14 stainless steel snare for the past 16 years. I recently purchased a Tama Starclassic G maple snare. Of course the sound of this drum is very different and I am having a hard time getting it to sound like I want it to. I am going for a Mike Portnoy sound from Train of Thought or Scenes from a Memory. The G maple is very similar to the snare that Mike uses, but I just cant seem to get mine to sound that way. Any tips or suggestions on tuning would be greatly appreciated.

By the way you can check out Strychnine Soul at www.myspace.com/strychninesoul These songs were recorded with the stainless steel snare.
Vetis
drumming adept
drumming adept

Post Sat Oct 21, 2006 10:05 am

I can only think of a few things that could help you out in your situation.

1. Make sure both your heads arent too thick so you can get that nice 'thwak" without many overtones following.

2. Get the heads screwed down a good 3 or 4 FULL turns for that quick attack ( be careful to watch for overtones the more you tighten your snare )

3. Make sure your snare wires are in good shape, if not, go get a better set. Perhaps upgrade to a 20, or even 30 count?

I hope this helps.
Vetis
Johnny Cat
session drummer
session drummer

Post Sat Oct 21, 2006 10:08 am