Seat height

Post here anything about the world of drumming. Equipment, music, drum gear, artists, events, gigs, and anything else drum set related!

Moderator: Moderators

METALCHRIS
beginner
beginner

Post Sat Oct 14, 2006 12:20 pm

I was doing some pre-production, and the producer(also a drummer...GREAT!!) said if I raised my seat up it might help some ISSUES i was having

I have been playing for about 12 yrs or so with the throne pretty much as low as it would go. I tried it the way he wanted, it will take time to adjust.

Just wondering what height you guys play at?
Animal
drumming adept
drumming adept

Post Sat Oct 14, 2006 12:49 pm

I sit fairly high on the stool, I'll say.

I'm about 186 cm's high, and my drum-stool is adjusted to the point were my thighs angle slightly downwards.

I find it easier than the "usual" way to position your drum-stool, whitch is basically way too low.
ImageImageImage
drummert2k

Post Sat Oct 14, 2006 12:57 pm

seat height is mostly personal preferance. although sitting with your leg as close to a 90 degree anlge as possible gives you an even balance between playing heel up and heel down, you have to just mess around to see whats most comfortable. i personaly sit with my leg a little higher than a 90 degree angle but i also do very little heal down work. just mess around with it and see what feels best to you. its all about feeling comfortable.
ROCKET SHELLS SKETCH
drumming adept
drumming adept

Post Sat Oct 14, 2006 1:17 pm

i sit less than a foot off the ground,more more of a visual thing
MAPEX DRUMS/Tama Drums/PEARL HARDWARE

EVANS/ATTACK DRUM HEADS

ALESIS,DDRUM,

ZILDJIAN/ISTANBUL CYMBALS

VATER PERCUSSION
Chad Scott
beginner
beginner

Post Sat Oct 14, 2006 1:42 pm

METALCHRIS wrote:I was doing some pre-production, and the producer(also a drummer...GREAT!!) said if I raised my seat up it might help some ISSUES i was having